The conference brings together academia and civil society. This is reflected by the existence of two committees:

The Scientific Committee liasing with the academia world, and the Civil Society Committee with the NGO and activists world. Both committes bring concerns, ideas, proposals and knowledge to the organising and development of the conference.

The local organising committee is dedicated to preparing the conference venue.

Local organising committee

  • Joan Martinez-Alier (UAB)
  • François Schneider (R&D, UAB)
  • Giorgos Kallis (R&D, UAB)
  • Daniel Raventos (UB)
  • Joaquim Sampere (UB)
  • Mario Giampietro (UAB)
  • Núria Vidal de Llobatera i Pomar (Ecologistes en acció)
  • Amalia Cardenas
  • Arnim Scheidel
  • Beatriz Labajos
  • Christian Kerschner
  • Claudio Cattaneo
  • Christos Zografos
  • Cristina Madrid
  • Elisabeth Gsottbauer
  • Federico Demaria
  • Filka Sekulova
  • Giorgio Mosangini
  • Leah Temper
  • Mariana Walter
  • Marta Conde
  • Monica Vargas
  • Enric Senabre Hidalgo
  • Oriol Leira
  • Stefano Puddu
  • Cathy Arnaud
  • Kristoffer Dittmer
  • Laura Calvet
  • Filip Filipov
  • Joan Garcia (Ecoconcern)

Scientific Committee

  • Arild Vatn, Norwegian University of Life Sciences, Norway
  • Clive Hamilton, Centre for Applied Philosophy and Public Ethics, Australia
  • Clive Spash, Editor of « Journal of Environmental Value », Australia
  • Christer Sanne, KTH, Sweden
  • Daniel Raventos, Universitat de Barcelona, Grup de Recerca en Ètica economicosocial i Epistemologia dels Ciències Socials, Spain
  • Debal Deb, Centre for Interdisciplinary Studies, Agroecology, Anthropology, India
  • Erik Swyngedouw, University of Manchester, Political Ecology, UK
  • Fabrice Flipo, Telecom Sud Paris, Philosophy, France
  • Friedrich Hinterberger, SERI, Austria
  • Gilbert Rist, Development critics, Geneva, Switzerland
  • Gjalt Huppes, Leiden University, Holland
  • Inge Ropke, Dep. of Manufacturing Engineering and Management, Denmark
  • Joaquim Sempere, Sociology, University of Barcelona
  • Joachim Spangenberg, SERI, Economist, Germany
  • John Gowdy, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA
  • Marie-Dominique Perrot, IHEID, Geneva
  • Mauro Bonaiuti, Torino University, Italy
  • Nadia Johanisova, Faculty of Social Studies, Masaryk University, Czech Republic
  • Oksana Mont, International Institute for Industrial Environmental Economics, Lund University, Sweden.
  • Richard Douthwaite, Feasta, Ireland
  • Sabine O´Hara, Institute of International Education, USA
  • Serge Latouche, University Paris XI,Economy, France
  • Sylvia Lorek, SERI, Germany
  • Thomas Schauer, Club of Rome, European Support Center
  • Valerie Fournier, University of Leicester School of Management, UK
  • Wendy Proctor, CSIRO Sustainable Ecosystems, Australia
  • Wolfgang Sachs, Wuppertal Institute, Germany

Civil Society Committee


Responsibles: Leida Rijnhout (ANPED), Filka Sekulova and Federico Demaria (ICTA)


The degrowth movements and ideas have been spread and discussed within a wide spectrum of society, giving rise to many meetings, conferences, marches, books, political debates (including in the European Parliament), magazines and the establishment of many local groups in France, Spain and Italy.


The degrowth perspective challenges the growth dogma that blocks the evolution of society towards social and environmental justice. Degrowth touches on the material and energy flow infrastructure, on economic institutions, on the structures that maintain inequality, on advertising, and many other aspects of society. It therefore carries ideas which can be applied to various fields, including climate change, sustainable development, international financial institutions, environmental protection, creating links between different NGO initiatives.

The contribution of civil society groups to the discussion and development of the policy proposals is crucial. We also believe that the ideas and links that emerge in the working groups, and in the conference in general, will be highly relevant for NGO campaigns and work.

So far the NGOs that have adhere to our proposal are:

·       FOEI:

·       FOEI Finland:

·       ASUD:

·       Ecologistas en acción:

·       WDM:

·       CEPA (Ecology Centre and Alternative Projects):<wbr>es-el-cepa.html

·       Federació d'ecologistes de Catalunya (Catalan Federation of ecologists):<wbr>federacio-ecologistes-de-<wbr>catalunya.html

·       CRIC (Revista Opcions)

·       Rete per la decrescita

·       Illacrua Directa

·       Col·lectiu d'Estudis sobre Cooperació i Desenvolupament (ElCol·lectiu)http://www.portal-<wbr>

·       Observatorio para la CiberSociedad

·       The Northern Alliance for Sustainability (ANPED)

·       Amigos de la Tierra España

·       Michael Narberhaus, WWF

·       NOAH

·       Campus per la pau

·       Entropia Revue Politique et Théorique de la Décroissance

·       Settimanale Carta<wbr>decrescita/19318




© 2016